24/7 Tech Support 888.292.0397

24/7 Tech Support 888.292.0397

Learn more about our award-winning online defensive driving course

only $23.95

Frequently Asked Questions

General

Registration

Completion / Certificate

General

1. What is I-PIRP?

I-PIRP is an acronym for the Internet Point & Insurance Reduction Program, which permits approved sponsors like us to provide Defensive Driving and Accident Prevention courses via the Internet.


2. Will I receive the same benefits as a classroom course if I completing the Internet course?

Yes, when you complete an I-PIRP course, you receive the same benefits as when you complete a classroom PIRP course.


3. How will this program help me?

  • It will help refresh your driving knowledge with a review of time-tested safe driving tips and an overview of today's vehicle and traffic laws.
  • You may be eligible to reduce as many as 4 points on your driving record to help prevent license suspension if you have 11 or more points.
  • If you are the principal operator of a motor vehicle, you will receive a minimum 10% reduction in the base rate of your automobile and motorcycle liability and collision insurance premiums each year for 3 years.
  • If you are a Taxi or Limousine driver, or a new applicant, you will receive Defense Driving Course (DDC) credit for Taxi & Limousine Commission (TLC).
  • If you received a ticket, you may plea-bargain with the court or the state’s prosecuting attorney to reduce your top charge.


4. Is your program approved?

Yes, our program is approved by the New York State Department of Motor Vehicles and it is accepted by all insurance companies. NYS DMV sponsoring agency #18.


5. Why should I choose your program?

  • We are New York State DMV approved
  • Over 2,000,000 drivers educated by New York Safety Program since 1981
  • Our course is 100% online with the shortest time allowed by the DMV
  • We don’t have any quizzes throughout the course
  • Our course is mobile and tablet friendly and can be accessed at any time from any location
  • We give you a free certificate and E-file your completion notice with the DMV

6. Is your website secure?

Yes, our website is secured using the most advanced encryption methods available. This means that information is scrambled while in transit (so that hackers can't understand it) and put back together only when it reaches its destination. To verify security, you may click on the security logo on the bottom of our website.


7. Can I do the course on my phone or tablet?

Yes, our course is mobile friendly and can be completed using any mobile device that has an Internet connection.


8. Can I still take the course if I don't have my own computer?

Yes, you can take our course from any computer or mobile device with Internet access and from any location (public library, school, cyber café, a friend's house). You can even switch between devices without losing progress.


9. How often can I take the Insurance and Point Reduction Program?

You are eligible to take the course every 18 months for point reduction benefits, if necessary. You should repeat the course every 36 months (3 years) to maintain insurance reduction benefits.


10. Is this course approved for Taxi and Limousine Commission (TLC)?

Yes, our course is approved to receive defense driving course (DDC) credit for Taxi & Limousine Commission (TLC).


11. Where can I find more information on the Point and Insurance Reduction program?

Please refer to the New York DMV’s C-32A brochure for more information regarding the Point and Insurance Reduction Program (PIRP).

Registration

12. How do I register for the course?

To register for the course, you may either click here or click on the "Register Now" button.


13. What information is required to register and take the course?

You will need your driver’s license number, personal information such as your name and date of birth, contact information, and a credit or debit card to take the course.


14. How quickly can I start the course after I register?

You can start the course immediately after you register.


15. How do I start the course?

If you have already registered for our course, please refer to the "Login" button located on the top right hand corner of our website, enter your driver's license number and the temporary password that was emailed to you, then click on "Login." If you haven't registered for the course yet, please click here to register.


16. How do I pay for the course?

You may either pay online or over the phone with any major credit card or a debit card.


17. What is your refund policy?

We grant a full refund to anyone that wishes to cancel the course before completing it.

Course Related

18. How do I login to the course?

To login to the course, please refer to the "Login To Your Course" box located on the top right-hand corner of our website, enter your driver's license number and password, then click on "Login."


19. How do I continue a course already in progress?

Please login to your course and click on the “Continue With Your Course” button located on top of the Control Panel page.


20. Do I need to have a computer to take this course?

No, our course is mobile and tablet friendly and can be completed from anywhere.


21. Can I take the course from any computer?

Yes, you can take our course from any computer or mobile device with Internet access and from any location (public library, school, cyber café, a friend's house). You can even switch between devices.


22. Do I need to have any special software to complete your course?

No, our course doesn't require any special software. It will work with all computers and mobile devices with an internet connection and any major web browser. In addition, the browser needs to support JavaScript, cookies, and sessions.


23. How long is the course?

The New York State DMV requires for all approved Internet Point & Insurance Reduction Programs to be a minimum of 5 hours and 20 minutes.


24. How much time do I have to complete the course?

The New York State DMV requires that you complete the I-PIRP course within 30 days of the date you register for the course.


25. Do I have to take the course all at once in one day?

No, our course is designed so that you can start and stop as many times as you want at a convenient time for you, within 30 days of registration.


26. Can I log in and out of the course whenever I want?

Yes, our course is designed so that you can start and stop as many times as you want, 24 hours a day and 7 days a week.


27. What happens if I lose my Internet connection?

Your course progress is automatically saved. When you log back in, you will be able to continue your course from the page you were last on.


28. I chose to pay later but now it’s asking me to pay in the middle of the course, why is that?

The Pay Later option allows you to try a portion of the course at no charge. After the trial portion of the course is complete, you must make a payment in full to continue with the course.


29. What if I fail the course?

If you do not meet all the requirements to complete the course, you may retake our course at no additional cost.


30. What is the difference between you and other schools?

  • We are New York State DMV approved
  • In the driver safety and education business since 1981
  • Our Proof of Effectiveness shows 65% fewer violations & 35% fewer accidents
  • We were one of the first to adapted the classroom course into an Online alternative in 2009
  • Our course is 100% online with the shortest time allowed by the DMV
  • We don’t have any quizzes throughout the course
  • Our course is mobile and tablet friendly and can be accessed at any time from any location
  • Our course allows unlimited logins
  • We have no hidden fees

Completion / Certificate

31. How will I get my certificate of completion?

We will mail you an original certificate of completion, and E-file your completion notice with the New York State DMV.


32. How long does it take to get the certificate in the mail?

Your original certificate of completion will be processed and mailed from California via U.S. Postal Service First-Class Mail. Delivery time is estimated at 3 to 5 business days but not guaranteed by the Postal Service. If you need your certificate sooner, we also offer express delivery and tracking for an additional fee.


33. Where is the certificate mailed from?

Certificates are sent from California.


34. What does same day certificate processing and mailing mean?

Same day certificate processing means that we will process your certificate and mail it out the same day, if you complete the course by 2pm (PST) Monday through Friday, excluding holidays. If you complete the course after 2pm (PST) or on a weekend or holiday, your certificate will be mailed the following business day.


35. I didn't get to print my confirmation of completion when I finished the course, how can I print it now?

Your confirmation of course completion was also emailed to you upon your course completion, you may print it from your emails.


36. How does the DMV get my completion certificate or know that I completed your course?

We will electronically submit your course completion information directly to the New York State DMV after you complete the course. The Department will make a notation directly on your NYS driving record.


37. How long will it take for the certificate to be submitted to the DMV?

Once you complete the course, we will electronically submit your completion notice directly to the New York State DMV.


38. After I complete the course, how do I receive the point reduction?

We will electronically notify the New York State DMV after you complete the course. The DMV will then make a notation of your course completion information on your driving record. This notation is acknowledgment of your point reduction.


39. How many points will come off of my driving record after taking the I-PIRP course?

New York State DMV will enter a maximum reduction of 4 point on your driving record. The maximum reduction is determined by the total points assessed on your driving record which occurred within the eighteen months prior to course completion.


40. How do I know my driving record shows my course completion?

If you need to verify the course completion has been entered on your record, you may request a copy of your driving record from the DMV. To do so, you can order your driving record online, or complete a Request for Driver and/or Vehicle Record Information (MV-15). This form is available on the DMV website at dmv.ny.gov or at any motor vehicle office.


41. What effect does point reduction have on my license and driving record?

Completion of the Point & Insurance Reduction Program may reduce as many as 4 points on your driving record to help prevent license suspension (if you have 11 or more points). Point reduction applies only to points assessed for violations that occurred within the 18 months immediately before course completion. It does not affect points for earlier violations, and cannot be used as a credit against future violations or points. It does not remove, delete, subtract, or erase any violation, conviction, or notice of an original number of points from your driving record. Even after you complete the course, most violations, conviction, and points assessed will continue to show on your driving record for up to four years but the points will not be held against you.


42. Does the DMV send my completion certificate directly to my insurance company?

No, the DMV will not send your completion certificate to your insurance company. It is your responsibility to submit your completion certificate to your insurance company for insurance reduction benefits.


43. After completing the course, how do I receive the insurance reduction?

We will mail you a completion certificate after you complete the course, in order for you to present to your insurance company or agent. If you present your certificate to your insurance company or agent within 90 days after course completion, your liability and collision premium reduction will begin immediately, retroactive to the date you completed the course. If you present your certificate more than 90 days after course completion, the insurer may issue the premium discount effective from the date presented.


44. Will taking the course prevent my insurance company from raising my premiums?

No, insurance reduction does not prevent general premium increases or premium increases due to violations or accidents. It provides a 10% reduction for three years, from the base rate of your current liability, no-fault and collision premiums.


45. Can more than one person named on an insurance policy complete the course?

It is recommended that all drivers complete the course. The discount will apply to all vehicles principally operated by the motorist who completes the course.


46. Will I get more discounts if everyone on the insurance policy takes the course?

For individual policies, the discount applies to the principal operator(s). If you are the principal operator of a motor vehicle, you will receive a minimum 10% reduction in the base rate of your automobile and motorcycle liability and collision insurance premiums each year for three years.

For commercial policies, all principal operates must complete the course.


47. Will youthful operators and drivers participating in assigned risk pool receive the insurance premium discount?

Yes. Any insured driver who is the principal operator and completes a Point & Insurance Reduction Program will receive the reduction.